A Change in Directions for Future Plans

Image

 

After graduating from UVM and spending some last precious days with college friends, I will be heading home to Ashland, Oregon.  Even though I will arrive in Oregon with a BA in Zoology, I have different plans in store.  I will be experimenting with a career in the performing arts area, primarily harp playing.

Image

I have been playing the harp for almost 12 years now and have mostly just kept with it as a hobby.  However, this past summer I was a street performer on Church Street, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  Not only were those passing by appreciative of my playing, but the income was also descent.  I was asked multiple times if I would be selling CD’s anytime soon.  Unfortunately, my repertoire contained several cover songs that I did not have the rights to record on a CD.  One couple actually danced while I played.  It was a very rewarding experience.

 

While I am interested in the animal sciences, this past semester made me think that perhaps a career in this field is not the best thing for me.  But I may change my mind.  In the meantime, I will be busking on sidewalks, handing out my contact info to those who wish to hire me to play at a wedding or party, and testing out storytelling.  If business is running slow, there is a college in my home town with a Zoology Department that may be willing to hire me for some part-time job.  I’ll see where the music takes me.

Leave a comment